Always a Mom..

18 Jan

Image When you bring home your newborn babe, so many things bombard you. I was fearful of sleeping. My mom lost a baby to sids and I was terrified that I would not be a good Mom, I would not be able to keep my baby safe. As time passed and he grew, I realized that he was healthy, strong and happy.

That was over 22 years ago. So much life has gone by. Lately, I realize that I still have some of the same feelings now, that I had then. Will I be a good Mom? What can I do to help my child? Relationships change, it is so strange to still have the Mom feelings towards an adult child.

It is even more challenging when they live in another country, worlds away. It doesn’t really matter if they are across town, across country or over 12,000 miles away. 

Wanting to show how much you care, wanting to share, not being there. 

Memories replaying, thinking about times lost and times to come.

Hoping to make right choices, say the right things, keep in touch without demanding too much.

Wondering if letters arrive, gifts are given. Opened away, not able to see the look on his face. Not knowing if it will bring a smile, yet thinking it will.

As I enter into this new time of being a 22 year old’s Mom, I still try to balance the Mom job with the other children. New dimensions are created with them as they see the love, prayer, sorrow and joys of always being a Mom.

 

One Response to “Always a Mom..”

  1. zionfeirme January 21, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    I feel that way now, having a broken family reaps the same feelings. I’m not there, how do they react when I’m gone, how can I be the mom I want to be when I’m not by their side? I pray for them every day, even when they are with me. I thank my father for my kids and ask him to point them in the right direction and be by their side always. My heart breaks and I lift them up when I hear bad news. I rejoice and pray for continued blessings when I hear good news. And, of course, I’m overjoyed when I can be the one there through the good and bad experiences. We are blessed! Our motherhood will never end, thank you God!!!

Leave a Reply

