Wishing..

18 Jan

How long has it been since you have heard the saying ” If wishes were horses, then beggars would ride?”

I was fortunate enough with the help of cooperating technology to Skype with my oldest son and his lovely wife this morning. After we signed off, I had so many thoughts swirling in my head and out my ears. This week has been a doozy. Busy with school, field trips, Portfolio work, chores. Dealing with weather challenges, wildlife clashing with our livestock.

We lost our first little hen to a Cooper’s Hawk last week. Looking out the kitchen window, while washing dishes, I noticed our mixed flock was hiding under the fallen apple tree. Next they ran into the thicket of wild rose hips. I realized that they must be terrified! Poor little things, they don’t realize they are too big to be carried off by the hawk. I had made the mistake of letting out the 4 month old Silkie & Silkie cross pullets from their safe chicken tractor.

Later, I noticed we were missing a little hen. Her name was Butter, she was tiny and yellow. She was to be my new little hen. Silkie hens are so tiny, yet they have huge hearts. Her Mommy hen bravely fought off a rat, when it entered their little coop. I found Butter, in the beginning of the thicket, suffering from the cold and not able to move. I initially thought she was just hypothermic, but after slowly thawing her out I realized something else was wrong.

Her little life ebbed away in the safety and warmth by our woodstove.  She was just a chicken  I hear quite frequently. Lately, I notice that I truly enjoy the creatures that our small farm gives a home to. They are always happy to see me, don’t talk back and bless us with milk, eggs and soon our very own lambs.

Why is this note titled wishing? Some days you just have to give in and do a little wishing, a little dreaming, calling up joy from deep within your soul. Thinking back to younger years when nothing seemed like it would ever be too difficult to accomplish, cost too much, take too long, nor be an impossible goal. 

I hadn’t really given too much thought to wishing until I started praying, asking for joy to be restored in my life. Not that I am not happy, I love my family, friends, farm & critters! Just in the thick of it all, I want to be able to feel the joy.

Watching the chickens when I let them out this morning, to them it seems like each day has a new beginning. Running out to see what little treats, salad, oatmeal, warm water and kind words we have for them. They always chick chatter , when they hear my voice they come running. 

I see the day come to an end, bed the animals down in fresh straw to keep them warm. Their breath turning to smoke like mist as it meets the frozen world. Making sure all are accounted for and chores are done. I come inside and defrost by the woodstove.

My husband already turning in for the night, he is doing the work of three at his job since they have laid off most of his coworkers. Our old dog is snoring. My youngest daughter’s fat cat claws his way up the side of the couch, so he can plop his kitty fatness into the nook of the couch for the nite.

I realize that in writing this note, I can count all of the blessings that make this feel like home. It is good to think about wishing and daydreams, isn’t it? It has helped me to remember joys are renewable and ever changing.

Waking up to the smell of freshly ground coffee, the kiss and embrace of loved ones, subdued glow of the coals behind the glass door of the woodstove.

Ah, joy. I only need to fan the coals, add some tinder and hope will burst forth like the start of a flickering flame.

If wishes were horses, than beggars would ride. 

One Response to “Wishing..”

  1. zionfeirme January 21, 2013 at 2:18 am #

    Amen. What a perfect thought.

Leave a Reply

